The Nighthawks

with Jimmy Thackery

Jacks & Kings, Volumes I & II

GCD 4120/25

Guitar Junior - Guitar, Vocals
Bob Margolin - Guitar
Jimmy Thackery - Guitar, Vocals
Calvin "Fuzz" Jones - Bass Guitar, Vocals
Pinetop Perkins - Piano, Vocals
David Maxwell - Piano
The Rhythm Kings Horns
The Phantom Horns


Buy this CD for $14.00

AMG refers to this recording as a MUST FIND and assigns it four and a half stars. The WebMistress considers this one of her all-time favorite collections, and it's no wonder: Look at the personnel. We have here the first and best incarnation of the Nighthawks accompanied by the Muddy Waters band and additional outstanding talent. Blues authority Gerard Herzhaft, in his Encyclopedia of the Blues, considers Pinetop Perkins "at his best" on this collection. This album is also recommended highly for shag dancers and other party-types.


1. For You My Love
2. Come Baby
3. Love Me or Leave Me
4. Dust My Broom
5. (Thank You) Sugar Mama
6. Sky Is Crying
7. Pinetop's Boogie Woogie
8. Floyd's Guitar Blues
9. Walking by Myself
10. Little Queenie
11. Born in Chicago
12. Anna Lee
13. Two Bugs and a Roach
14. Lickin Gravy
15. Sea Cruise
16. Nervous Breakdown
17. Rockin' the Boogie
18. After Hours
19. Mother-In-Law Blues
20. Gotta Get My Baby Back

HomeRockBluesJazzReggaeWorldFolkNew ReleasesEmail Adelphi Records Store